Mini Big Hype
Image default

What is the UPSC Syllabus for the Civil Service Exam?

Every year, the UPSC conducts the Civil Services Exam (IAS Exam), the most prestigious exam of all, to select candidates for various government services and postings. Candidates who plan to take the exam should familiarise themselves with the  UPSC Syllabus in detail to ace the exam in the first attempt. The UPSC Syllabus is set in such a way to test the candidates in many areas. In general, the IAS syllabus is regarded as one of the more difficult ones because of its vast expanse. But with a proper strategy and good planning, you can ace the exam.

The UPSC exam is known as one of the most difficult exams in the country. It has been called the hardest exam because there is a lot of competition and the UPSC curriculum is very long. 

UPSC Syllabus & Exam Pattern 

The UPSC Exam Pattern is divided into three sections: Prelims, Mains, and Interview.

  • UPSC Prelims: The main goal of the preliminary syllabus is to see how well a candidate understands current events and how resourceful they are in the time given.
  • UPSC Syllabus for Mains: The main syllabus is primarily intended to assess a candidate’s level of academic proficiency in his or her chosen specialty. In addition, applicants will be evaluated on their ability to communicate their information in a concise and logical manner as part of the syllabus.

The mains exam consists of 9 papers, and the syllabus is based on the subjects covered. The syllabus for both the preliminary and main examinations is intended for candidates who will be taking the written test. Candidates who successfully clear both the rounds of prelims and mains can appear for the interview process.

What is the UPSC Exam Pattern for the Prelims?

The UPSC conducts the Civil Services Examination (CSE) to select candidates for positions such as IAS, IPS, and IFS. The Civil Service Preliminary Examination consists of two general studies papers, Paper-I and Paper-II.

The General Studies Paper-I consists of 100 questions with a total mark of 200, and the duration is 2 hours (120 minutes). The General Studies Paper-II consists of 80 questions with a total mark of 200, and the duration is 2 hours (120 minutes). with a grand total of 400 marks, composed of 180 questions, and a duration of 4 hours (240 minutes).

What is the UPSC Exam Pattern for the Mains?

The shortlisted candidate list for the civil services The commission will release the main exam based on the candidate who achieves at least the cutoff in General Studies I and 33 percent in General Studies II in the preliminary exam. Candidates should know that the main exam is the most important part of the IAS selection process. The main exam consists of 9 papers that are more or less conventional (descriptive).

According to the pattern of the UPSC Mains exam, all of the papers have questions with descriptive answer types. Final scores are directly affected by the total number of marks scored in the UPSC mains. So, the UPSC exam marks for the mains are very important because they are a key part of deciding who gets employment.

UPSC Interview Exam Pattern

This is the final round of the exam process. As per the exam pattern, the UPSC board will interview the candidates to see if they are right for a job in the civil service and can handle the responsibilities that come with it. The personality test is counted as a part of the main exam. The grand total of marks is 2025, in which the written test consists of 1750 and the personality test is 275.

See the details provided above for more information on the UPSC syllabus and exam pattern prior to the actual outset of your preparations for the competitive exam. 

Stay Connect with education blogs & write for us education 

Related posts

Is Collaborative Learning Setting Students Up for Success?


Global Literacy Rate & Its Role In Global Developments


What Students Look for in Apartments


Leave a Comment